TIARA LINES: ADVANCED
If you have not worked with the basic kit, you may want to do so NOW. This is a continuation at a higher level. It includes the famous IrfanView image viewer and manipulator. A vital item for what you are going to do here. Among other things. it enables you to:
- Using Edit>Paste Special, append images to other images, either horizontally or vertically, to make larger ones
- Reize more accurately, especially down; since the basic images used here are twice the size of the ones in the starter kit and downsizing to fit the font size of a page is more accurate than upsizing
- Using the color correct, change the color and contrast of an image
- Use a generous set of Effects to emobss, metalize and make 3D buttons
- WARNINGS: UNTIL YOU SET TO AUTOMJATIC SAVE, YOU MUST SAVE YOUR WORK BEFORE YOU EXIT. WHEN YOU SAVE UNDER THE ORIGINAL NAME, DO SO BY USING "RETURN/ENTER" AND A BOX WILL COME UP TO ASK YOU IF THAT IS WHAT YOU WISH TO DO: CLICK OK
- IV updates so use the update check and visit the site. I advise to donate to keep the site up and new things added to IV. Another program you may wish to explore that is an image viewer with a few tricks that IrfanView does not have is FastStone. They complement each other. If you need a good basic drawing program use the standalone mspaint XP for windows 7. You can also upgrade to Paint.NET which uses layers and a few other things. then there's Krita, which is like Paint.NET but doesn't need NET Famework, and has the rare spray can: On the other hand it is a bit experimental. All of these things are freeware
- IfranView also works with Filters Unlimited, a purchased set of filters and the capability to write your own, and other filter sets, so it is expandable
IrfanView, a Windows app, does not replace your drawing program, it is used in addition to it
when you download and unzip the kit, the first thing you will do is click the Irfanview setup and install, then use the plugin installer, they will find their way to IrfanView. IrfanView, or IV, updates
Since the basic images are large, twice the size of the starter kit basic image, rather than give you the multi-tier images, I will give you multiple single-tier sets of images with which you can create mutl-tier images by Edit>Copy, Edit>Paste Special>To Bottom for each tier, then save (original folder) and choose a differnt name
Because these are much larger than the starter kit images. Each color set contains 5 images consisting of 1, 2, 3,4 and 6 from which you can make any reasonable number. To use: decide how many images across you want and use Paste Special like before, but you will first copy the one you wish to add, then go to the one you wish to add it to, usually the 6 and Edit>Paste Special> to right then Save (original folder) rename from "clipboard" and do the same if you wish to add more. For example to make an 11-place line copy the 3 then go to the 6, Editi>Paste Special>To Right, Save (original folder) rename, then copy the 2 and repeate this time using the same name as the one you are adding the 2 so it will re-write it.. then if you wish, you can resize down. Leave the "Use sharpness" unchecked: you do not need it to resize down. Do set the Resize to use Resample and take the highest quality when you set it up
ADVANCED PROJECTS
Well, this IS the Advanced Version Kit. So Let us get Advanced
To make something like this placque

Usually of the metallic ones. Bring the image up on your drawing program and note the background color RGB elements, go to your drawing program and select them and make a rectangle that is about 105% as long and about 180% as tall and fill with that color. Open that image in IrfanView Edit>Insert overlay/watermark image. Use Choose to browse to the image that you made the background from. In the upper right of the box select center and make sure that overlay transparancy is 0% then OK. IV will put the image in the center of the one on the screen. Then Image>Effects>Effects Browser>3D Button and set the effect and say OK and Save (original folder). Getting the difference in lenght/width proportion right takes a bit of practice. If you are going to use multiple drawing programs, set all the parts to .bmp In IrfanView bring up the imge the File> Save (original folder)>filetype>select BMP. In the final save just do the same except save as a gif or jpg or whatever you like
Here's another variation...
Now we are going to get crazy. What do you think of this idea?
Crazy enough for you? I said this was the advanced kit!
No??!
Well, use Color Correct and get Dark Chocolate
More Color Correct magic and get...
I even saved the metallic indigo image I used as well as the black and white one I used to make the pink, gold and silver ones and the Chocolate one (as gif's)in the zip file which you get
HERE